₹ (Indian Rupee)
Reserve Bank of India

The Indian rupee sign: ₹, currency code: INR is the official currency of India. The rupee is subdivided into 100 paise singular: paisa, though as of 2019, coins of denomination of 1 rupee is the lowest value in use. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India.

The Reserve Bank manages currency in India and determines its role in currency the executives on the basis of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. In 2010, another rupee sign (₹) was officially adopted.

It was designed by D. Udaya Kumar. It was derived from the combination of the Devanagari consonant "र" ra and the Latin capital letter "R" without its vertical bar similar to the R rotunda.

The parallel lines at the top with white space between them are said to make an allusion to the tricolour Indian flag. The first series of coins with the new rupee sign started in circulation on 8 July 2011. Before this, India used "₨" and "Re" as the symbols for multiple rupees and one rupee, respectively.