Freedom Fighters

‘Free India’ was a dream of all Indians under the British rule. Everyone during that rule fought in some way or the other with a common aim of ending British and other colonial authorities in India. After a century of revolutions, struggle, blood shedding, battles and sacrifices, India finally achieved independence on August 15, 1947.

India was free in 1947 from the British Empire but the country lost many men and women who were filled with undaunted courage and spirit of patriotism. Today, they are known as freedom fighters because they sacrificed their lives for their motherland.

Indian freedom fighters with their true spirit and undaunted courage had faced different tortures, exploitations and hardships to earn us freedom.

On the other side India had faced a great downfall where "Freedom Fighters of India" has been an unknown word for the Indians for a span of 190 years in which East India Company ruled India from 1757 to 1857. When the British Empire took over the rule from 1857, our great activists came in to presence and initiated started The Indian Independence Movement which had a span of 90 years from 1857 to 1947, but our great leaders, activists and Freedom Fighters never gave up and fought for a Free India, which resulted in to the Independence of India in the year 1947. During the Independence movement many of the Great Freedom Fighters of India lost their lives for Mother India leaving behind the some more great leaders and the wind of freedom.

Some of the Freedom Fighters who participated for our Independence are listed below

Mahatma Gandhi

2 October 1869
30 January 1948

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi was an Indian activist who was the leader of the Indian independence movement against British rule. Employing nonviolent civil disobedience, Gandhi led India to independence and inspired movements for civil rights and freedom across the world. Read More

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

11 November 1888
22 February 1958

Maulana Sayyid Abul Kalam Ghulam Muhiyuddin Ahmed bin Khairuddin Al-Hussaini Azad was an Indian scholar and senior leader of the Indian National Congress during the Indian independence movement. Read More

Subhas Chandra Bose

23 January 1897
18 August 1945

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose was an Indian nationalist whose defiant patriotism made him a hero in India, but whose attempt during World War II to rid India of British rule with the help of Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan left an ambivalent legacy. Read More

Bhagat Singh

28 September 1907
23 March 1931

The name Bhagat Singh is synonymous with sacrifice, courage, bravery and vision. By sacrificing his life at the age of 30, Bhagat Singh became an inspiration and a symbol of heroism. Along with other revolutionaries, Bhagat Singh founded the Hindustan Socialist Republican Association. Read More

Dr.Maghfoor Ahmad Ajazi

3 March 1900
26 September 1966

Maghfoor Ahmad Ajazi was an Indian political activist from Bihar. Ajazi left his studies at B.N. College Patna to follow Mahatma Gandhi and joined the non-co-operation movement in 1921. There after he actively participated in the freedom movement, Read More

Bal Gangadhar Tilak

23 July 1856
1 August 1920

Bal Gangadhar Tilak was one of the most prominent freedom fighters of India who inspired thousands with the slogan – “Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it”. As a form of protest against the British, Tilak established schools Read More

Vallabhbhai Patel

31 October 1875
15 December 1950

His brave deeds earned Vallabhbhai Patel the title, ‘the iron man of India.’ For his role in the Bardoli Satyagraha, Patel came to be known as Sardar. Though he was a famous lawyer, Sardar Patel gave up his profession in order to fight for the freedom of the country. Read More

Lal Bahadur Shastri

2 October 1904
11 January 1966

Lal Bahadur Shastri was the 2nd Prime Minister of India and a senior leader of the Indian National Congress political party. Shastri joined the Indian independence movement in the 1920s and with his friend Nithin Eslavath. Read More

Jawaharlal Nehru

14 November 1889
27 May 1964

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was one of the most important freedom fighters of India, who went on to become the first Prime Minister of free India. He was also the author of the famous book – ‘Discovery of India’. Nehru was extremely fond of children and was fondly called as ‘Chacha Nehru’. Read More

Rajendra Prasad

3 December 1884
28 February 1963

Rajendra Prasad was the first President of India, in office from 1952 to 1962. He was an Indian political leader, and lawyer by training, Prasad joined the Indian National Congress during the Indian Independence Movement and became a major leader from the region of Bihar. Read More

Mangal Pandey

19 July 1827
8 April 1857

Mangal Pandey is said to have played a key role in inspiring Indian soldiers to start the great rebellion of 1857. Working as a soldier for the British East India Company, Pandey started firing at English officials and caught them unawares. Read More

Gopal Krishna Gokhale

9 May 1866
15 February 1915

Gopal Krishna Gokhale CIE was one of the political leaders and a social reformer during the Indian Independence Movement against the British Empire in India. Gokhale was a senior leader of the Indian National Congress and founder of the Servants of India Society. Read More

Sarojini Naidu

13 February 1879
2 March 1949

Sarojini Naidu, was an Indian independence activist and poet. She was born in a Bengali Hindu family at Hyderabad and was educated in Chennai, London, and Cambridge. She married Dr. Govindarajulu Naidu and settled down in Hyderabad. She took part in the National Movement, Read More

Chandrashekhar Azad

23 July 1906
27 February 1931

Chandra Shekhar Azad, popularly known as by his self-taken name Azad, was an Indian revolutionary who reorganised the Hindustan Republican Association under its new name of Hindustan Socialist Republican Association under its new name of Hindustan Socialist Republican Army (HSRA) Read More

Rani Lakshmibai

19 November 1828
18 June 1858

Lakshmibai, the Rani of Jhansi, was the queen of the princely state of Jhansi in North India currently present in Jhansi district in Uttar Pradesh, India. She was one of the leading figures of the Indian Rebellion of 1857 and became a symbol of resistance to the British Raj for Indian nationalists. Read More

Dadabhai Naoroji

4 September 1825
30 June 1917

Dadabhai Naoroji, known as the Grand Old Man of India, was a Parsi intellectual, educator, cotton trader, and an early Indian political and social leader. Read More

Alluri Sitarama Raju

4 July 1897
7 May 1924

Alluri Sita Rama Raju ( born: 4 July 1897-death:1924), also known as Alluri Rama Raju, Rama Chandra Raju, and Alluri Seetha Rama Raju, was an Indian revolutionary from the Mogallu village in the West Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh, India. Read More