Mysore Palace

Mysore Palace

Maharani Pramoda, Devi Wadiyar.
1897 - 1912
Mysore, India.

The Mysore Palace is a historical palace and the royal residence house at Mysore in the Indian State of Karnataka.

It is the official residence of the Yadav Wadiyar dynasty and the seat of the Kingdom of Mysore. The palace is in the centre of the Mysore, and faces the Chamundi Hills eastward.

Mysore is commonly described as the 'City of Palaces', and there are seven palaces including this one; however, 'Mysore Palace' refers the specifically to this one within the Old fort.

The land on which the palace now stands was originally known as puragiri literally, citadel, and is now known as the Old Fort. Yaduraya built the first palace inside the Old Fort in the 14th century, which was demolished and constructed multiple times. The current structure was constructed between 1897 and 1912, after the Old Palace was burnt ablaze.

Mysore Palace is now one of the most the famous tourist attractions in India, after the Taj Mahal, with more than 6 million annual visitors.